AgCensus 2015-16: Categorisation of farmers

AgCensus 2015-16: Categorisation of farmers

Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
05-February-2019 16:26 IST
Categorisation of Farmers
          In agriculture Census, the operational holdings are categorised in five size classes as follows:-

Sl. No. Category Size-Class
Marginal Below 1.00 hectare
Small 1.00-2.00 hectare
Semi- Medium 2.00-4.00 hectare
Medium 4.00-10.00 hectare
Large 10.00 hectare and above

The operational holdings are also classified in three social groups, viz., Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and Others.
As per the results (provisional) of latest Agriculture Census 2015-16, the State-wise average size of operational holdings in the country is given at Annexure.
To improve production/productivity of various agricultural crops, the Government is promoting adoption of modern technologies and practices like multiple cropping, intercropping and integrated farming systems etc.
In the “India Rural Development Report 2012-13” prepared by the IDFC Rural Development Network, it has been observed that Small farms are more efficient, especially in cultivating labour-intensive crops or tending livestock, but land holdings are too small to generate sufficient household income.
With a view to improve the condition of Small  and Marginal farmers and to double the income of farmers by 2022, Government is realigning its interventions from production-centric approach to farmers’ income-centric initiatives, with focus on better and new technological solutions. These include implementation of schemes like, Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojana (PMKSY), Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY), Soil Health Card, Neem Coated Urea, Rainfed Area Development under National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA), Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY), National Agriculture Market scheme (e-NAM), National Food Security Mission (NFSM), National Mission on Oilseeds & Oilpalm (NMOOP), Mission for Integrated Development of Horticulture (MIDH), Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY), National Mission on Agriculture Extension & Technology (NMAET) etc. In addition, farmers are provided information through Focused Publicity Campaigns, Kisan Call Centres (KCCs), Agri­-Clinics and Agri-Business Centres (ACABC) of entrepreneurs, Agri Fairs and exhibitions, Kisan SMS Portal etc.
This information was given by Minister of State for Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat in Lok Sabha today.


About the author

admin administrator

Leave a Reply